Meg MorrisThe National Recycling Coalition gave 10 organizational and individual awards this year, including one to a woman who played an instrumental role in reinvigorating the organization. The coalition has also elected a new slate of board members.

The National Recycling Coalition (NRC) gave Meg Morris of Covanta Energy the 2016 Lifetime Achievement in Recycling award. A longtime board member who has served various leadership positions, Morris “was a major force in the re-emergence of the NRC, helping organize the rebuilding of the organization and its finances,” according to the NRC.

Morris and other award recipients were honored at an NRC Annual Awards Luncheon, which was held in conjunction with the 2016 Resource Recycling Conference in New Orleans in late August. Also during the conference, the NRC held a meeting and elected new board members.

Award winners

The following awards were presented this year: The Outstanding Business Leadership For-Profit Company award went to Sheetz Inc. & Weis Markets, Inc. Outstanding Not-For-Profit Business Leadership was given to La Soupe of Cincinnati

Meanwhile, Outstanding Recycling Organization was awarded to Indiana Recycling Coalition and State of Texas Alliance for Recycling (STAR). Johnson County Community College in Overland Park, Kan. picked up the Outstanding Higher Education honor. The Outstanding Community or Government Program went to the Chapel Hill – Carrboro School District in North Carolina. And Outstanding Community or Government Program, Honorable Mention was awarded to the City of Columbia, S.C. School District

Finally, the Bill Heenan Emerging Leader honor was given to Laurel Stelter of Iowa

Also during the awards luncheon in New Orleans, the NRC presented its annual Murray J. Fox Scholarships. Resource Recycling previously wrote about the winners, who were all New Orleans-area university students.NRC award winners

Board elections

NRC members elected new and re-elected existing board members. The six new and re-elected members, who will serve three-year terms, included the following people: Susan Attridge, recycling coordinator, City of Buffalo, N.Y.; Maggie Clarke, zero waste consultant, Zero Waste New York; Paul England, general manager, Pratt Recycling; Carey Hamilton, executive director, Indiana Recycling Coalition; Dave Keeling, director of recycling, Steel Recycling Institute; Robin Wiener, president, Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries.

The NRC has listed new and existing board members here.